Eternal Vampyre

Chapter Two

 

“I hope you don’t mind me doing this, dear Rose,” said Vlad. Rose gave him a concerned look and took a step backwards. “Oh, don’t be afraid. It’s not anything to worry about. Now come here.” Rose took a few steps forward, looking back over her shoulder hesitantly to see William keeping his guard. She turned to face Vlad again and he held the sides of her head, his thumbs resting on her temples.
“What I do now?” She asked, hoping for an answer that would reassure her.
“Just stay still and let me concentrate.” Vlad was mumbling some words to himself. That made Rose anxious and she tried to send a message to William.
“I can’t help you if you don’t trust me and won’t let me concentrate,” Vlad was getting angry and frustrated because it was hard for him to get to her mind. She couldn’t relax and Vlad felt a wall protecting her mind. He kept on mumbling his words while sending messages to William, they weren’t close with him at all but it was one of Vlad’s powers.
Maybe I should calm her down, she is my wife after all. I can break down her walls and then you can come in to do what you need to do. Vlad smiled to himself as he looked at William’s face, which was full of concern. He nodded and let William take over.
“Rose, I want you to close your eyes. Can you do that for me?” William noticed she had fear in her eyes before she closed them. “You’re going to be okay, dear. This is to fix you, it’ll be worth it. You can trust Vlad, he may seem untrustworthy but that’s just him. I love you, Rose. You’re safe with me.” He embraced her then took her hand in his. He could tell she was still relaxed, so nodded to Vlad to take over. Vlad placed his hands back on her temples, she jumped a bit because his hands were colder from regular vampyre’s hands.
He started mumbling again and immediately Rose tensed up, William saw it and started calming her: “Rose, honey, relax. It’s okay, I’m here with you. You’ll be alright Vlad will fix it.” Then he felt Rose relaxing again and shut up for Vlad to keep on working.
Vlad entered her mind and started looking for memories: “Rose I need you to imagine a room full of doors, each door represents a memory. Keep all of the doors open, if you don’t want me to see something then tell me but don’t lock the door.” Rose nodded and did as Vlad had said. He journeyed through a few childhood memories, trying to see if anything was wrong. He got to her teenage years, before being a vampyre. He came across one memory that intrigued him, it was shrouded in a dark cloud. He was about to look at it when her voice interrupted him.
“I’m sorry,” she spoke softly, like a child who was scared. “I can’t let you see that. It’ll hurt too much. I’ve tried to forget about it. Don’t go in there.” He let out a noise of impatience but skipped the memory that Rose didn’t want him to see. It was better to keep himself on her good side than to ruin the exploration.
Vlad continued his explorations and then Rose fainted. Vlad snapped out of his trance like state. William was worried and carried her home. Vlad followed him: “It’s completely normal that it happens, she locked the door like I told her not to. Every time she locks a door she’ll faint, she might see some nightmares now because she didn’t let me help. We have to continue this.”
“We’ll see if she wants to continue, now be our guest,” William was still polite to him even though he was worried and hurt and didn’t know what to do in order to help his wife. “Enjoy the house, feel free to explore. I need to take her to our coffin.”
William carried her up the stairs to their room. He placed her inside it and stroked her hair until he felt sure she would be relaxed enough. He checked her pulse and it was the slow beat that all vampyres had.
It was getting late so William brought some blood bags in case Rose woke up, she hadn’t eaten in a while and that made him worry even more. Vampyres’ energy would drain if they hadn’t fed for a long period of time.
Then he went to sleep, he took her into his arms and made sure she was warm, he didn’t worry about Vlad, he had always been stubborn and never really cared of the rules vampyre life had given to him.
It was a rough night for William and Rose. Rose had many nightmares and William tried to calm her every time she woke up.
“You’re okay, I’m here.” He repeated constantly. Hearing his voice would help Rose to calm down until the next one.
Eventually, she woke up at a human time. She hadn’t seen the full daylight in a long time, but still knew to be cautious of the windows. She got out of the coffin, her whole body screaming at her for doing so. She reached for the blood bags William had left for her and fed hungrily. She made a complete mess of them, with blood dripping down the dress she wore. She went to the wardrobe and picked out an old, white, long sleeved dress and put it on. It made her look ghostly, which she was proud of. She kissed William on the cheek then wandered downstairs.
She wasn’t really sure where she was going, but she knew she had to get away for a while. She went down to the basement and waited until the sun was starting to go down, she knew that William wouldn’t wake before midnight so she had some time to leave. She entered William’s room and wrote a letter to him:
My dearest William,
I know that I shouldn’t leave now but Vlad has freaked me out. I don’t know where I’m going or how long I’ll be lost. I might ignore your thoughts because I need this time to figure it all out. When I’m back I might open up for Vlad but I’m not sure if I can handle with it.
You know I love you and I’d take you everywhere but I’ve not found peace with my past and I’m not ready to share it yet. This time alone will help me find peace and confidence to share it. I’ll send you letters from time to time but don’t write me back.
Yours truly,
Rose

She left the house and the grounds behind, not looking back once.

Leave a Reply

